Infinite vs OpenFX: how do they compare?

How to read this

Cross-border payment infrastructure gets diligenced on the same questions everywhere: who runs KYC/KYB and sanctions screening, what account primitive sits underneath, which rails one integration reaches, when funds actually settle, what engineers integrate against, and where the provider can operate. Those criteria are the rows below.

The Infinite column states only what Infinite publishes on this site and at docs.infinite.net; see FX across GBP, EUR, MXN, and BRL and transfer routing across SWIFT, US rails, and stablecoins for the underlying pages. The OpenFX column states only what OpenFX’s own public materials say: every cell was verified against openfx.com on August 9, 2026 and carries its citation. OpenFX’s API reference sits behind a sign-in, so its cells rely on its homepage, its product, FAQ, currencies, solutions, and company pages, and its blog. Where something is described as not specified or not published, that means it is absent from OpenFX’s public materials as of that date, not that OpenFX cannot do it.

Infinite vs OpenFX: how do they compare? Compared across 8 criteria
CriterionInfiniteOpenFX
Compliance modelWho runs KYC/KYB, sanctions screening, and transaction monitoring, and whether counterparty review repeats for every relationship.KYC/KYB, sanctions screening, and ongoing transaction monitoring run under Infinite’s compliance program. Review is network-wide: a counterparty vetted once is vetted for every business on the network.OpenFX states it partners with licensed and regulated entities in each market to handle the AML/KYC and compliance aspects of money movement, performs its own due diligence on senders and receivers, and can integrate with a client’s existing compliance workflows. Further detail on sanctions screening and transaction-monitoring ownership is not specified in its public materials as of the August 2026 verification.Source: openfx.com/faq (verified 2026-08-09)
OnboardingHow customers actually get live: who collects what, in whose brand, and how long first-time review takes.Customers onboard through hosted whitelabel flows in your brand or headless via API: Infinite runs the KYC, KYB, and screening underneath. Full first-time counterparty review closes in 1–2 days, versus the roughly 30 days such review typically takes industry-wide under one-off, per-relationship manual processes.Its FAQ describes business onboarding as sign up, complete the KYC process, and start trading, completing “usually within 72 hours” (OpenFX’s stated clock from onboarding start to first money movement for the business itself).Source: openfx.com/faq, openfx.com/solutions/payment-service-providers (verified 2026-08-09)
Data accessWhat your systems can see about compliance state: review and RFI states, reasons, and the audit trail behind decisions.Compliance reviews and requests for information are explicit states your systems can query and subscribe to, with webhooks for every state change and every case assembled and documented before an analyst opens it. Decisions are auditable.OpenFX describes “a single, transparent API from quote to settlement,” integrated via APIs, webhooks, and a web platform, and its solutions pages show transaction-lifecycle events (payment.created, compliance.cleared, funds.settled, payout.delivered) surfaced to integrators. Compliance-state payloads beyond these lifecycle events are not detailed in its public materials as of the August 2026 verification.Source: openfx.com/solutions/payment-service-providers, openfx.com/faq (verified 2026-08-09)
Account primitivesWhat the customer actually holds: a dedicated bank account, a virtual sub-ledger on a pooled account, or a wallet.Dedicated demand deposit accounts (DDAs) established at Infinite’s bank partners, unique to each customer with their own account and routing numbers, offered as USD bank accounts and Wallet Accounts (stablecoin custody); a Deposit Account is coming soon.Clients hold multi-currency balances, execute FX conversions, and withdraw to their own bank accounts, managed from a single dashboard. Its FAQ states, as of the August 2026 verification, that OpenFX does not “currently offer named accounts” and is working to add virtual account solutions; custody and safeguarding structure are not described in its public materials as of the August 2026 verification.Source: openfx.com/faq, openfx.com/product (verified 2026-08-09)
Rails coverageWhich payment rails one integration reaches: US bank rails, SWIFT, stablecoins, and FX.ACH, Fedwire, RTP, SWIFT, and stablecoin transfers (USDC, USDT, OUSD, USDG) from the same account, plus FX across GBP, EUR, MXN, and BRL, with Transfer Routes selecting the rail per corridor.Its product pages report 40+ currency pairs and 25+ local rails through one integration, naming SEPA Instant, Faster Payments, NPP, SPEI, Bre-B, and Pix, plus USDC, USDT, and EURC stablecoins. Its currencies page lists USD, EUR, GBP, AED, AUD, BRL, and MXN as active, PHP, COP, and ARS as newly launched, and a dated roadmap through 2027 for further currencies.Source: openfx.com/product, openfx.com/currencies, openfx.com/solutions/remittance-companies (verified 2026-08-09)
SettlementWhen funds actually arrive, including nights, weekends, and rail cutoffs.Stablecoin transfers settle 24/7, weekends and bank holidays included. USD payments past the ACH cutoff can route to RTP the same day; most SWIFT wires settle same day to two business days once released.Its FAQ says most trades settle within the hour, with “T+0 settlement for many transactions” on a 24/7/365 platform, and its March 2026 funding announcement makes the same under-an-hour claim. Fiat deposits typically reflect within 20 minutes per its FAQ (OpenFX’s stated clocks for trade settlement and deposit reflection).Source: openfx.com/faq, openfx.com/product, openfx.com blog, Series A announcement (verified 2026-08-09)
Developer surfaceThe API, webhooks, hosted flows, and dashboard an engineering and operations team works with.One typed payments API across every rail, webhooks for every state change, hosted onboarding flows (in your brand or headless via API), and an operations dashboard. Developer documentation at docs.infinite.net.A Trading API automating quotes, trades, deposits, and withdrawals over REST, FIX, and streaming interfaces, webhooks, a web dashboard for accounts and wallets, and a personalized sandbox with sample trades and real-time pricing.Source: openfx.com/product, openfx.com/faq (verified 2026-08-09)
Jurisdiction coverageWhere the provider operates and onboards customers, and under what licensing or partner structure.Businesses onboard from the United States and the further markets listed at infinite.net/solutions/embedded#supported-markets; payments reach further over SWIFT, with local rails in EUR, GBP, MXN, and BRL. Services are not available in OFAC-sanctioned or otherwise restricted countries, and accounts are provided through a bank partner.OpenFX states it holds the necessary licenses and registrations in the markets it serves, citing banking infrastructure and licenses across the US, UK, Europe, UAE, Mexico, Brazil, and Southeast Asia, and identifies its US entity as Red Envelope Delta, Inc (NMLS #2680829). It describes the platform as designed for businesses and enterprises.Source: openfx.com/faq, openfx.com, openfx.com/company (verified 2026-08-09)
  1. Compliance modelWho runs KYC/KYB, sanctions screening, and transaction monitoring, and whether counterparty review repeats for every relationship.
    Infinite
    KYC/KYB, sanctions screening, and ongoing transaction monitoring run under Infinite’s compliance program. Review is network-wide: a counterparty vetted once is vetted for every business on the network.
    OpenFX
    OpenFX states it partners with licensed and regulated entities in each market to handle the AML/KYC and compliance aspects of money movement, performs its own due diligence on senders and receivers, and can integrate with a client’s existing compliance workflows. Further detail on sanctions screening and transaction-monitoring ownership is not specified in its public materials as of the August 2026 verification.Source: openfx.com/faq (verified 2026-08-09)
  2. OnboardingHow customers actually get live: who collects what, in whose brand, and how long first-time review takes.
    Infinite
    Customers onboard through hosted whitelabel flows in your brand or headless via API: Infinite runs the KYC, KYB, and screening underneath. Full first-time counterparty review closes in 1–2 days, versus the roughly 30 days such review typically takes industry-wide under one-off, per-relationship manual processes.
    OpenFX
    Its FAQ describes business onboarding as sign up, complete the KYC process, and start trading, completing “usually within 72 hours” (OpenFX’s stated clock from onboarding start to first money movement for the business itself).Source: openfx.com/faq, openfx.com/solutions/payment-service-providers (verified 2026-08-09)
  3. Data accessWhat your systems can see about compliance state: review and RFI states, reasons, and the audit trail behind decisions.
    Infinite
    Compliance reviews and requests for information are explicit states your systems can query and subscribe to, with webhooks for every state change and every case assembled and documented before an analyst opens it. Decisions are auditable.
    OpenFX
    OpenFX describes “a single, transparent API from quote to settlement,” integrated via APIs, webhooks, and a web platform, and its solutions pages show transaction-lifecycle events (payment.created, compliance.cleared, funds.settled, payout.delivered) surfaced to integrators. Compliance-state payloads beyond these lifecycle events are not detailed in its public materials as of the August 2026 verification.Source: openfx.com/solutions/payment-service-providers, openfx.com/faq (verified 2026-08-09)
  4. Account primitivesWhat the customer actually holds: a dedicated bank account, a virtual sub-ledger on a pooled account, or a wallet.
    Infinite
    Dedicated demand deposit accounts (DDAs) established at Infinite’s bank partners, unique to each customer with their own account and routing numbers, offered as USD bank accounts and Wallet Accounts (stablecoin custody); a Deposit Account is coming soon.
    OpenFX
    Clients hold multi-currency balances, execute FX conversions, and withdraw to their own bank accounts, managed from a single dashboard. Its FAQ states, as of the August 2026 verification, that OpenFX does not “currently offer named accounts” and is working to add virtual account solutions; custody and safeguarding structure are not described in its public materials as of the August 2026 verification.Source: openfx.com/faq, openfx.com/product (verified 2026-08-09)
  5. Rails coverageWhich payment rails one integration reaches: US bank rails, SWIFT, stablecoins, and FX.
    Infinite
    ACH, Fedwire, RTP, SWIFT, and stablecoin transfers (USDC, USDT, OUSD, USDG) from the same account, plus FX across GBP, EUR, MXN, and BRL, with Transfer Routes selecting the rail per corridor.
    OpenFX
    Its product pages report 40+ currency pairs and 25+ local rails through one integration, naming SEPA Instant, Faster Payments, NPP, SPEI, Bre-B, and Pix, plus USDC, USDT, and EURC stablecoins. Its currencies page lists USD, EUR, GBP, AED, AUD, BRL, and MXN as active, PHP, COP, and ARS as newly launched, and a dated roadmap through 2027 for further currencies.Source: openfx.com/product, openfx.com/currencies, openfx.com/solutions/remittance-companies (verified 2026-08-09)
  6. SettlementWhen funds actually arrive, including nights, weekends, and rail cutoffs.
    Infinite
    Stablecoin transfers settle 24/7, weekends and bank holidays included. USD payments past the ACH cutoff can route to RTP the same day; most SWIFT wires settle same day to two business days once released.
    OpenFX
    Its FAQ says most trades settle within the hour, with “T+0 settlement for many transactions” on a 24/7/365 platform, and its March 2026 funding announcement makes the same under-an-hour claim. Fiat deposits typically reflect within 20 minutes per its FAQ (OpenFX’s stated clocks for trade settlement and deposit reflection).Source: openfx.com/faq, openfx.com/product, openfx.com blog, Series A announcement (verified 2026-08-09)
  7. Developer surfaceThe API, webhooks, hosted flows, and dashboard an engineering and operations team works with.
    Infinite
    One typed payments API across every rail, webhooks for every state change, hosted onboarding flows (in your brand or headless via API), and an operations dashboard. Developer documentation at docs.infinite.net.
    OpenFX
    A Trading API automating quotes, trades, deposits, and withdrawals over REST, FIX, and streaming interfaces, webhooks, a web dashboard for accounts and wallets, and a personalized sandbox with sample trades and real-time pricing.Source: openfx.com/product, openfx.com/faq (verified 2026-08-09)
  8. Jurisdiction coverageWhere the provider operates and onboards customers, and under what licensing or partner structure.
    Infinite
    Businesses onboard from the United States and the further markets listed at infinite.net/solutions/embedded#supported-markets; payments reach further over SWIFT, with local rails in EUR, GBP, MXN, and BRL. Services are not available in OFAC-sanctioned or otherwise restricted countries, and accounts are provided through a bank partner.
    OpenFX
    OpenFX states it holds the necessary licenses and registrations in the markets it serves, citing banking infrastructure and licenses across the US, UK, Europe, UAE, Mexico, Brazil, and Southeast Asia, and identifies its US entity as Red Envelope Delta, Inc (NMLS #2680829). It describes the platform as designed for businesses and enterprises.Source: openfx.com/faq, openfx.com, openfx.com/company (verified 2026-08-09)

Infinite Agents, Inc. is a financial technology company, not an FDIC-insured bank. Banking services, including deposit accounts, are provided by Erebor Bank, N.A., Member FDIC. FDIC deposit insurance covers the failure of an FDIC-insured bank and does not protect against the failure or insolvency of Infinite Agents, Inc. or any non-bank entity. Funds held in deposit accounts through the Erebor Bank platform may be eligible for FDIC insurance up to $250,000 per depositor, per insured bank, per ownership category, subject to satisfaction of conditions for pass-through deposit insurance.

OpenFX is a trademark of its owner; Infinite is not affiliated with or endorsed by OpenFX. Statements about OpenFX quote or closely paraphrase its public materials as of the date shown in each cell’s source line.

Run the comparison on your own flows.

Book a 30-minute demo and put your hardest corridor through Infinite, side by side with what you use today.